PDA

View Full Version : Dry Sift the best choice?

Jurrasic 5
02-20-2010, 10:24 AM
Hey everyone I had a question pertaining to dry sift's effectiveness with limited material.

Dry sift seems much easier than bubble or BHO to make and I'm fairly new to hash making with my only batches being QWISO (quick wash isopropyl aclohol). I'm interested in making something that's not garbage and dry sift seems like the place to start.

My question is if it is worth it to make this glorious product with a limited amount of plant material to process. I'm going to be starting a small CFL grow soon but this will also be a first for me so I'm not even worried about yields til my second run.

If you think some other form of hash is more sensible with limited quantities please share as I would like to hear some thoughts.

Thanks,
J5

JamesDean
02-20-2010, 02:10 PM
Unfortunately, most hash heads will tell you that good full melt dry sift is more of an art than anything else. You really gotta practice before you get close to full melt.

Hop into chat and talk to Bubbleman, he'll be able to point you in the right direction.

YukonBikerGuy
02-20-2010, 02:25 PM
Also, for the record..... anything made with a solvent (ie iso or butane) is not hash, it is an oil.

Returns on bubblehash run about 3-10% Assuming 5%, 10g of herb contains .5g of hash on it in unharvested trichs.

Dry sift collects those same trichs in a different way, so somewhere in the same neighborhood. Depends on how aggressivley you work your material... work it lightly and get the best product but lowest yields.... or work it hard and get better yields but lower quality due to increases plant matter contamination.

Hope this helps some.
YBG

Aqua Lab Tech
02-20-2010, 07:10 PM
Nice Post Yukon!!

¨Also, for the record..... anything made with a solvent (ie iso or butane) is not hash, it is an oil.¨

100% TRUE.

Aqua Lab Tech

doobiehuffer
02-21-2010, 02:31 AM