PDA

View Full Version : Rookie looking for some Veteran guidance

thePricholas
08-01-2010, 03:04 PM
FMB,

I'm a rookie grower and I need help setting up and running my first grow. I'd be immensely appreciative if someone could lend me some guidance and help me through my it. I'm talking down to the basics. I know a little bit, but I'd prefer if I was led through it like I'm a short bus rider because I don't want to screw it up.

The space I was looking at is 3.5ft x 3.5ft in the attic. It's next to some large electrical equipment. Would that be a problem due to temperature or humidity concerns? I'll have to see what it actually is.

If anyone is interested in helping out a rookie send me a PM. Thanks FMB.

Green Supreme
08-01-2010, 03:56 PM
Hey man, attic grows can be a tough thing. Summer temps usually make it quite difficult. This electrical thing may further the issue if it gives off heat. If heat can be controlled I would recommend 1-1000 watt hps, if it cannot, you will have to use less. Shoot the questions and I will see what I can do. Peace GS

Evergreen
08-01-2010, 04:51 PM
YEa GS is right, fucking hot up there usually, I would use 2 400's or 1 600watt if the 1000w makes too much heat, also try to keep your ballast in another room if you can. Air cooling the light will be key here in helping keep the temps down. Do you have anywhere you can draw fresh air from?

Take temp readings up there throughout the day and night and that will give you an idea.

What kind of electrical equipment do you have, just like GS said, that can cause more problems.

You are going to need an inline fan for cooling the light, a rotating fan for circulating the air and a smaller inline fan for drawing in fresh air or "fresher" air from another room.

I would use sticky traps for the bugs and spray neem oil to prevent most pests.

you starting from seed or cone?

you might want to think about augmenting c02 up there as well, cause it seems like you are going to be in the lows 80's.